Logo: San Miguel Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Picture: Aerial of San Miguel

Created on February 17, 1977, under the Rural Electric Cooperative Act of the State of Texas, San Miguel is a cooperative corporation organized for its member rural electric cooperatives. San Miguel is owned by its member cooperatives. Each member cooperative is represented on the San Miguel Board of Directors.

San Miguel presently owns one 400 MW generating unit, which is located in Atascosa County, Texas. The Plant is fueled with Lignite which is mined from deposits in Atascosa and McMullen Counties.

San Miguel sells power pursuant to a Wholesale Power Contract with its member-customer, South Texas Electric Cooperative, Inc. (South Texas), which is a generation and transmission cooperative. South Texas sells at wholesale to their members, all of which are distribution cooperative providing retail service to their member- customers. The member customers of San Miguel include.

  • Jackson Electric Cooperative

  • Karnes Electric Cooperative

  • Magic Valley Electric Cooperative

  • Medina Electric Cooperative

  • Nueces Electric Cooperative

  • San Patricio Electric Cooperative

  • South Texas Electric Cooperative

  • Victoria Electric Cooperative

  • Wharton County Electric Cooperative

Unlike investor-owned utilities, we are operated by and for the people of South Texas in predominately rural areas - regions that had historically been overlooked. We have one simple goal: reliable power, not making a profit.

Learn more about San Miguel: Who is San Miguel?

What is an Electric Cooperative?

Coal Ash: Beneficial Uses

Reclamation: Returning the Land to South Texans

Careers at San Miguel: Current Positions Available

Environmental: Coal Combustion Residuals (CCR) Management

Charitable Giving: SMEC Charitable Giving Program

CoBank "Sharing Success" Program

6200 FM 3387 . Christine, TX 78012 . Phone: (830) 784-3411 . E-mail: sanmiguel@smeci.net